Newbies & Lessons

AtomFun

Newbies & Lessons

Post by AtomFun » Tue Oct 25, 2005 9:47 am

Hi Tim & other instuctors

What about a complete newbie having one to one? Me as an example. nearly 53, never driven on a track, never 'purposely slid around a corner :) , haven't even got my Atom yet!

Would you recommend that I spend some time getting used to the car first and then book you?

I'm sure there are many just starting out who'd feel somewhat nervy and therefore put off having lessons.

Tim Arnold

Re: Newbies & Lessons

Post by Tim Arnold » Wed Oct 26, 2005 1:19 pm

[quote="AtomFun"]
Hi Tim & other instuctors

What about a complete newbie having one to one? Me as an example. nearly 53, never driven on a track, never 'purposely slid around a corner :) , haven't even got my Atom yet!

Would you recommend that I spend some time getting used to the car first and then book you?

I'm sure there are many just starting out who'd feel somewhat nervy and therefore put off having lessons.
[/quote]
I would recommend getting some track instruction and experience in something not as as quick as an Atom first. Learning track driving techiques and driving a quick car quickly at the same time presents a very steep learning curve... even racing drivers attending schools like Silverstone are taught in road saloon cars first.

Getting used to driving your Atom on the road first might help, but conversely, track driving tuition will help your road driving.