Which type of brakes

Moondust

Which type of brakes

Post by Moondust » Wed Nov 18, 2020 6:47 pm

Hello

Can someone give some information/experience about the different types of brakes.

The standard brakes, the sport brake package and the Alcon brakes.

Maby someone who had one of those and changed it to an other system. Advantages en disadvantages.

Which are good, better best.

Thanks.
No One Ever Got Sick from Smoking The Tires

Fastlane

Re: Which type of brakes

Post by Fastlane » Thu Nov 19, 2020 8:46 am

My Supercharged 3 has the Alcons and I have no experience of any other system. The standard are the cheapest, then sports then Alcons. I haven't seen any cars with the standard brakes as most either have sports, sports rears and Alcons front, or Alcons all round.

My thoughts are:

For purely road use on a 245, the standard brakes will be fine. For a supercharged car, then sports at a minimum.

For track use on a 245, sports minimum, or Alcons front and sports rear.

For track use on a supercharged car, then Alcons all round.

For resale of any Atom, bearing in mind any car can be upgraded to supercharged or 3.5 spec, then sports minimum but preferably Alcons.

You could also ring the factory and they will advise you on the nbest option for your usage.

Sent from my ELE-L09 using Tapatalk

2008 Supercharged Atom 3, Tesla Model 3 Long Range

atomiser

Post by atomiser » Thu Nov 19, 2020 9:04 am

Alcons front and rear stop you in 43m from 100, the standard ones don't.

On track you have alot more confidence to brake late.

The alcons also have better feel and seem to require less to switch them on(coming upto temp) though this is really a pad/disc thing.

Never noticed any brake fade with either, though the alcons seem to glaze the pads on a more frequent basis - this is probably a function of my (bad) driving

Also brake bias on track is essential to allow for different tyre and brake temps.

K20A2

Post by K20A2 » Thu Nov 19, 2020 12:01 pm