The curious case of the Atom 4 brakes

All things Atomic
reg

The curious case of the Atom 4 brakes

Post by reg » Sat Apr 16, 2022 2:50 pm

So following on from this thread I have put some time into looking at the brakes (or lack of them) in my car.

My background is 250GP bike racing, BSB, MotoGP spannering, 3.5 owner for 5 or so years. I spent a lot of time on the calipers and became quite OCD about preparation. Having been lucky to work with factory only calipers I appreciate the engineering and the wildly differing requirements of riders/drivers. We had data channels specifically for brake pressure, temps, etc, factory stuff. The first time I looked at the AP's, I thought that they looked a bit basic. I have AP CP5575 (old school 6 pot) on a 1 series with two piece 356mm rotors, my old Atom would outbrake that easily, the 4, I am not sure it would....but might with some leg gymnastics.

Picking up the 4 the brakes were not much short of awful. Long pedal, no bite. I was assured that they needed bedding in time so I followed my usual procedure of heat cycles. The dull drive back on the motorway it's easy to bed them in with a bit of left foot and loads of straight roads. They never came to me. Were they less crap, maybe a little.

I put up with it TBH, but then Ian drove mine and it just reaffirmed how rubbish they are. Now. At this point I am slightly pissed off as the only reason I opted for the 'race' setup was that the 3.5 was just epic on the brakes, so I figured this is the AP 'fit and forget' solution. It turns out not so much.

Enter Chris and Paul, who gave me access to their work, and invaluable feedback. They are amongst a niche of owners who really push and modify the AA4 platform. I came away after passenger rides and generally annoying them for a day at Cadwell with many questions.