New member looking for some help

Come here to say hello and get up to speed with how to make the most of the forum.
MrLizard

New member looking for some help

Post by MrLizard » Sun Jun 22, 2014 6:39 pm

Hi,

I am in the process of ordering and hoping to use the atom for road/track driving, however I have been given a budget of 35k from Mrs-Lizard, so the dilemma is fitting everything I need into this budget, obviously this will just be the 245 BHP version.

In my spare time I am a racing driver and had the atom cup been about 7 years ago I'm sure I wouldn't be having this conversation, I only didn't order one after my first test drive all those years ago because the MSA/FIA wouldn't recognise the car, since then I ended up building a race car out of a 350z but have never quite shaken the feeling of hooning that green atom (2?) about down south, so here I am, again :)

Going down to the factory in a couple of weeks to meet Tom (again), I was just wondering what things definitely 'have' to be ticked in the options list and what's the deal with the handbrake?

At the moment the list looks a little like - car,LSD,front alcons,brake bias, cat bypass, removable steering wheel, and some other little bits like 12v/cover etc - some things I would be capable of adding myself later, some things I assume the factory would be happy to add later but what would be essential?

Thanks
MrLizard

MrLizard

Re: New member looking for some help

Post by MrLizard » Sun Jun 22, 2014 6:45 pm

Also the baffled sump was on the original list, If I ply the Mrs with shoes I might be able to stretch the budget slightly..

phil4

Post by phil4 » Sun Jun 22, 2014 7:26 pm

So, just the things you've listed and you should be able to get for less than 35K, but that makes some assumptions.

The handbrake as I understand it is required if you go for the Alcon rears, and is required for MOTs, so if new, that's 3 years away.