Mini E Pilot

fiestycolumbian

Mini E Pilot

Post by fiestycolumbian » Wed May 27, 2009 1:07 am

So I was invited to the BMW Mini E 1-year pioneer program back in January. Because of unforseen delays with the electrical infrastructure, I am only now going to recieve the car by the end of June.

(While I am the Lessee on the car, some things have changed within my familiy. My grandad, who is 82 years and strong, recently had a major health scare, and was hospitalized for a few weeks with a MI/stroke. He is at home resting and recuperating extremely well. He almost back to his normal self. He has been a big part of my life, and I consider him to be one of my best friends. It was very hard on me to see what he went through. Granted being a Medical resident, I see these things everyday, but went it happens to family, it obviously hits close to home.
My grandad is an absolute car connoisseur. He has experienced the automobile since its infancy back in the 30s and 40s. He has all kinds of fun stories and experiences from all over the world. He has experienced carb motors, current FI motors, modern diesels, etc.. He reads autoblog everyday religously!! He was absolutely thrilled when I was selected to be part of this Mini E pilot program. To that end, I have decided to allow my grandad to take over the E lease from me, and allow him to drive it for the year. He has given me a lot over my life, practically raised me, so giving him this automotive opportunity is the least I can do. I know for a fact he is excited, and given him a lot of motivation to recover stronger. )

Anyways, I will definitely post up pics and a review of the Electric Mini, once the car is delivered. They are installing the charging station and cables in my grandad's home in the next few weeks.