Registering and insuring in either NY or Co?

State specific issues relating to Atom registration with the DMV
Reyno109

Registering and insuring in either NY or Co?

Post by Reyno109 » Fri Feb 02, 2007 4:31 am

I am new to this site, and also became aware of the atom through youtube.  Thanks to Jeremy Clarkson i want one of these things so bad.  However there isn't much in the way of tracks in upstate NY.  So i would want to register it for street use, and wanted to know if anyone has been successful in doing so.  Also i am a college student at the moment, and next spring i have to do an internship, and might do one in Fort Collins CO.  My uncle lives there and I've been there before, and i like that area.  So i might end up moving out there for a job eventually.  So obviously i won't be ordering one of these anytime soon.  Gotta finish school first.  Oh and if anyone lives in upstate NY that has one of these, i would love to see it and maybee get a ride sometime.  Reynolds.

bolus

Re: Registering and insuring in either NY or Co?

Post by bolus » Fri Feb 02, 2007 5:03 am

Welcome Reyno109,  it would be difficult to know what registration issues you might encounter in a few years when you order but right now CO would be much easier place to register than NY.  Registration for cars like this vary quite a bit state to state with some being very simple to others being impossible.  But it is possible and there are many of us already registered and insured. 

Jammer

Post by Jammer » Fri Feb 02, 2007 5:09 am

Im in Albany, and you can all but forget NY at this point. It's been stopped Cold Hard and Dead...  but, the determined sometimes find a way.  ALL avenues have been extensivly explored... and short of a mistake or blind eye, it aint happenin.
CO is much better from what i have heard.

Bottoz

Post by Bottoz » Fri Feb 02, 2007 7:19 am

I guess we'll find out about the Colorado deal in a few weeks.

Reyno109

Post by Reyno109 » Fri Feb 02, 2007 5:20 pm