Track Suggestions for Ariel Atom Experience

This is where Ariel.Club events specific to the US/Canada should be posted to
swaltner

Track Suggestions for Ariel Atom Experience

Post by swaltner » Thu May 01, 2008 3:16 am

I live in Wichita, KS and made it down to AtomFest last year. Shinoo was gracious enough to give me an exciting ride in his Atom. I'm thinking I might sign up for an AAE later this year and was curious if anyone had suggestions on which to attend. Living in the middle of the US and looking at the schedule, I'm going to be traveling, so travel costs don't really matter a whole lot.

I have no previous track experience and in fact my ride from Shinoo was the first time I had actually been on a track. I suspect it doesn't matter a whole lot which venue I choose and that any of the tracks would be equally exciting.

The currently scheduled tracks include:

Sep 9-13 == Autobahn Country Club â?? Joliet, Illinois
Sep 16 - 24 == Virginia International Raceway â?? Alton, Virginia
Nov 5 - 9 == Spring Mountain Motorsports Ranch â?? Pahrump, Nevada

I'm curious if anyone has suggestions for a total novice.

Steve

twebb

Re: Track Suggestions for Ariel Atom Experience

Post by twebb » Thu May 01, 2008 2:25 pm

Of the tracks listed, VIR stands head and shoulders above the rest.  VIR is a place that must been seen and enjoyed.

That being said, Mr. Atomfest and FourFathers will be at Hallett many weekends this year during COMMA.  you should keep in touch and find out when they are next at Hallett.  I'm sure you will be able to get another ride.

Do you have a sports car currently?  If so, you might want to attend a High Speed Touring event at Hallett before heading to the VIR.  For approximately $100 you will get 5 to 6 on track sessions.  Getting familiar with the "track" experience might make your trip to the AAE more enjoyable.

Feel free to give me a call anytime.  I'm the chief instructor for Hallett's HST program.

tim Webb
479-236-7606

Mr.Woolery