EWP on Supercharged Atom

Atlarge

EWP on Supercharged Atom

Post by Atlarge » Mon Jan 11, 2021 12:48 pm

Hi,

Does anyone know the details of how the electronic water pump is wired / works normally? I thought mine was possibly broken as I could never hear it operate but it only comes on with the radiator fan which struck me as a odd but I’m no expert.

From what I’ve read of the EWP it’s usually thermostatically (hence the fan operation?) controlled or can be used to replace a regular water pump with the engine block thermostat bypassed. I wondered if this could be powered manually to help push air out of the cooling system or run continuously to help keep the temps down, anyone tried that?

Cheers!

John Scherrer
Global Moderator

Re: EWP on Supercharged Atom

Post by John Scherrer » Mon Jan 11, 2021 3:29 pm

As I recall, the electric water pump is part of the supercharger option kit.

It is in addition to the stock mechanical water pump and I think only kicks in when the electric radiator fan is called and also continues to run for a time on engine shutdown when of course the mechanical pump isn’t working.

This is to avoid any local water boiling that would lead to an air lock and creating damaging hot spots.

After a heated drive, you can stop with fan going. If you stop the engine by switching the ignition off, the fan cuts too. If you just turn the ignition on again, the fan will restart and cutoff when the radiator water has cooled. Don’t leave the car and forget to switch the ignition off though !

I’m not suggesting that you should do this, it may just be better than leaving the engine idling until the fan cuts out.
Atom 3 310 Supercharged (2011), Now Sold

Atlarge

Post by Atlarge » Mon Jan 11, 2021 6:50 pm

Hi John,