First track day coming up

If you race your Atom or use it hard on track, here's a place to discuss strategy and swap tips.
PhilTimo

First track day coming up

Post by PhilTimo » Mon May 03, 2021 11:26 am

Hi all,
I have my first track day coming up (Anglesey) and I am a complete novice to car track days.
I am wondering if there anywhere I can find a basic set up to start off with. AA3.5
I'm talking suspension and brake bias, as I have the tyre pressures from the manual.
I have Blistein adjustable suspension..

Thanks in advance
Phil
Ford Fiesta Van 1.6 Sport
Hyundai Tucson 1.6 N Line
Suzuki GSXR 1000
2016 Atom 3.5

dooke2000

Re: First track day coming up

Post by dooke2000 » Mon May 03, 2021 6:45 pm

I do not know Bilstein dampers, so someone else will help.

Just stiffen the car up on the dampers slightly. You do not want the car to handle wildly different to what your used to.

I hope some of this helps, even though you never asked for it.

If your fast, cars just get in the way as you pass them and try for a good lap.

If your slow, you spend most of your time being passed ( do not worry just keep a predictable line ). It's down to the passing car to make a clean pass and not steal your line (turn in) into a bend.

Enjoy the day. Do not try and put fast laps up straight away and bin the car early, some people do. I saw one BMW M3 driver 1st bend on 1st lap, straight in the wall at Donington. Some driver's will not take to the track for the first 30minutes, to make sure any idiot's have gone.

If you are anything like me, you will come away with a lap 3-4 seconds slower than what you are capable of.

You are not allowed to time laps so I video the lap and then use the video to get the laptimes.

Good luck and have fun.
Corvette 74 big block, Mustang Cobra Terminator, Focus RS mk3, Nissan GTR, Maserati Gran turismo mc sport.

PhilTimo

Post by PhilTimo » Tue May 04, 2021 7:04 am

Thank you!
Suzuki GSXR 1000
2016 Atom 3.5

Hedge