roll-over protection and Infineon

A country specific area to gas about the AmericAtom
GTED

roll-over protection and Infineon

Post by GTED » Fri Jan 22, 2010 1:37 am

Hi

Being a newbie, I have a newbie question.  Is the tubing surrounding the air intake built as a roll-over protection?  I've seen pix of Atoms on track, some with specific big roll bar/cage, but some without.  Also, any Atom owner tracks at Infineon with TrackMasterRacing or Hooked On Driving?  They have track events at Infineon on 2/6; 3/4 and 3/19.  Those are the days I plan on participating.  Would be great if there is/are Atoms there.  I've only seen one in person one time last year at Thunderhill.  An Atom from Oregon participated. 

As mentioned in the Welcom-New Users sub-forum, I'm seriously looking to get an Atom to track at Infineon and around town.  As such, I'm looking to maximize my exposure to the car any opportunity I can get.  If anyone in the San Francisco Bay Area don't mind a newbie pestering with all kinds of atom-questions and would like to show off your lovely Atom, let me know when and where or PM me, I'll be there!!

GTED

dp35

Re: roll-over protection and Infineon

Post by dp35 » Fri Jan 22, 2010 4:18 am

IMO the hoop around the air intake is not sufficient roll over protection.  The "real" roll bar is optional, and IMO the 1st thing to have.

I'm in the east bay area, but don't have any track plans for the Atom anytime soon.  Try Positron.

DarthChicken

Post by DarthChicken » Fri Jan 22, 2010 4:24 am

I drove my atom, without roll bar, at infineon.  And received a HEALTHY dose of crap from the safety crew, including getting the meatball on my last lap of my last session.  ::)

Suggest if you're at infineon, get the bar.

positron

Post by positron » Fri Jan 22, 2010 4:30 am